Prix Nobel de physique [email protected] 24

Nobel Week continues in Sweden. After the announcement of the winners of the Medicine Prize on Monday, the distinguished physicists are known this tuesday morning.

canadian-american James Peebles and Swiss Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz received the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics on tuesday, 8 october. According to the Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences Göran Hansson, this award is in recognition of their discovery on exoplanets. He also pointed out that the prize goes to “half to James Peebles for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology and the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for the discovery of an exoplanet in orbit around a solar-type star”.

They succeed Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland, who were awarded in 2018 for their work on laser physics and applications. This is the second prize awarded after the medicine prize on Monday. The Nobel Week calendar continues this Wednesday, October 9 with the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, Thursday for Literature, Friday for Peace and Economy on monday, 14 october to complete the circle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here