Long without rewards, goalkeepers will in turn have a personal distinction. France football announces the introduction of the Yachine trophy for the best goalkeeper in the world from 2019.

France Football is expanding its individual awards. The famous French newspaper has announced the introduction of the Yachine Trophy, which will reward the world’s best goalkeeper at the gala evening on December 2th, at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris. Lev Yachine, is the only goalkeeper in the history of football to have won this prestigious award in 1963. France Football added that the ten nominees for this award will be announced on October 21th.

In the football family, this is an injustice that has just been combined with the past. Since 2007, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, two world-class stars, have reigned over this prestigious trophy. It took until 2018 to see Croatian Luka Modric on the podium. It is now the opportunity for Manuel Neuer, Alisson Becker, Jan Oblak, Keylor Navas, Marc-André ter Stegen and David De Gea to make history with the Golden Ball for goalkeepers after the iconic Lev Yachine in 1963. For this great gala evening, the French newspaper chose the former captain of the Elephants Didier Drogba as the master of ceremonies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here